## 2020 ANNUAL REPORT NAPB AWARDS COMMITTEE

The NAPB Awards Committee completed its main activity in July, 2020, selecting four outstanding candidates for NAPB Awards from the 14 nominees. With the Executive Committee's support, the Plant Breeding Impact Award was separated into two awards, one for Public and one for Private Sector members.

Nominators provided packages comprising a nomination letter, condensed candidate CV, selected products (publications, presentations, patent, cultivar release, etc) and support letters. Committee members reviewed each package and provided rankings for nominees within each category. Based on Committee feedback, this cycle was exceptionally challenging, and the ranking process described by more than one member as "brutal." However, this may be a good problem to have, with an array of very deserving candidates and excellent advocacy from nominators. It is worth noting the final mix of candidates was about 50:50 public: private sector.

The NAPB Exec Committee also chose to honor Donn Cummings with a 2020 Friends of Plant Breeding Award. This award is given at the discretion of the Exec Committee and is not necessarily provided annually. Criteria for the award were also modified as follows:

"Honors individuals whose career may or may not have been involved in plant breeding, but who, through their professional activities and passion have contributed significantly to the advancement of the plant breeding discipline."

2020 NAPB AWARD WINNERS BY CATEGORY				
Award Category	Awardee	Affiliation		
Early Career Scientist	Diego Jarquin	University of Nebraska-Lincoln		
Lifetime Achievement	Fred Bliss	Seminis/UC-Davis		
Public Sector Plant Breeding Impact	Kendall Lamkey	Iowa State University		
Private Sector Plant Breeding Impact	Tom Osborn	Bayer Crop Science		
Friends of Plant Breeding	Donn Cummings	Bayer Crop Science (Monsanto)		

It was a pleasure to have a diverse and responsive committee in 2020. Many of its members have served beyond a three-year term, so some turnover is desirable, including my role as Chair.

NAPB AWARDS COMMITTEE MEMBERSHOP 2020					
Term	Surname	Name	Affiliation		
2016-20	McFerson (Chair)	Jim	Washington State Univ (ret.)		
2016-20	Linbo	John	HM Clause, Davis CA		

2016-20	Kidwell	Kim	Univ Illinois
2016-20	Kresovich	Steve	Clemson Univ
2016-20	Baltensperger	Dave	Texas A&M Univ
2018-21	Potts	Sarah	Dow, Adair IL
2018-21	Duncan	Rob	Univ Manitoba
2019-22	Smallwood	Chris	Olam Spices
2020-23	Grapes	Laura	Bayer Crop Science, Chesterfield MO