NAPB Borlaug Scholars 2020 Annual Report

ACSESS468 ACSESS – NAPB Borlaug Scholars Committee

Don C Jones, Chair - August 1, 2020

This is the NAPB Borlaug Scholars Committee Annual Report. The program was created in January 2018 to support the activities of the NAPB Borlaug Scholars ASF Fund. The National Association of Plant Breeders (NAPB) was established in 2010 with the following mission: *The National Association of Plant Breeders strengthens plant breeding to promote food security, quality of life, and a sustainable future.*

The committee composition starting in January 2020 and continuing for 2 years is:

2020 NAPB Borlaug Scholars Committee:

Don Jones, Chair
Allen Van Deynze, Vice Chair
Sarah Potts, Secretary
Donn Cummings, Past Chair
Bo Zhang, Member at Large
Wayne Smith, Member at Large
Jodi Scheffler, Member at Large
Kiru Pillay, Member at Large
Peng Chee, Member at Large
Richard Pratt, Member at Large
Caio Canella Vieira, Student Member for 2020 (2019 Borlaug Scholar)

The Vision of the NAPB Borlaug Scholars Committee: *A sustainable annual flow of high-potential plant science students and emerging plant breeders into the professional community.*

Our Mission: Selection of outstanding plant breeding students through national competition; funding these students to attend the NAPB Annual Meetings; mentoring of scholarship recipients during and after the annual meeting.

The ASF - NAPB Borlaug Scholars Fund has grown from \$30,000 at inception in January 2018 to a current balance of \$62,647.78 as of June 30, 2020. During the last three annual meetings we have funded 38 scholars and breakfast events. 15% of the current balance is restricted to provide a spending floor. The Class of 2020 is comprised of 18 individuals, with 16 being graduate and 2 undergraduate students. The financial health of the Fund remains strong and will support the Class of 2021.

Highlights for 2020:

- NAPB was represented at the APBA inaugural conference in Ghana which helped us to partner with our Graduate Student Working Group to identify 12 African students from 4 African universities to receive sponsorship to attend our 2020 Annual Meeting and become student members at no cost to the awardees.
- Booth featuring Borlaug Scholar profile posters (brochures were distributed) was displayed at ASTA CSS conference in Chicago and at ASTA Vegetable and Flower Show in Monterey Bay.
- NAPB banner highlighting the NAPB Borlaug Scholars program was created for exhibitions.
- 18 scholarships were awarded from 54 nominations, 16 graduate and 2 undergraduate students.
- The mentoring program was expanded to accommodate the increased numbers.
- NAPB scholar profiles have been publicized through the NAPB Newsletter, Website, Meeting Registration Website, Seed World, and social media channels.
- Introduction of the Borlaug Scholars using their self-made one minute videos during our Annual Meeting enables an expanded audience to meet them.
- A virtual kickoff Meet-and-Greet event was held July 31 with 41 participating. The purpose of the event was to introduce all participants to one another, and it was focused around a discussion of the PBS documentary about Dr. Borlaug titled *The Man Who Tried To Feed The World.* Dr. Donn Cummings moderated the event while Dr. Sarah Potts was the host. Speakers included Dr. Borlaug's long-time colleague Dr. Ed Runge, Borlaug Foundation CEO Dr. Roy Cantrell, and Dr. Borlaug's granddaughter Julie. Based on the discussion, Q&A, and chats, the event was a huge success. The Borlaug Scholars wish to continue similar additional events to stimulate further dialogue and discussions.
- The Borlaug Scholars donor site was updated to encourage ongoing fundraising support and outreach to corporate donors has begun again.
- All scholars were provided a \$500 check for recognition of their selection. Each received complimentary student memberships in NAPB and free conference registration also.
- The fund has taken in \$8,500 contributions through June 30 for 2020. Distributions to students are expected to total \$9,000.
- Seed World interview podcasts are expected for some NAPB Borlaug Scholars.

2020 Borlaug Scholars and Mentors

- Clayton Carley Iowa State University, Klaus Koehler
- Tia Dunbar Texas A&M University, Ksenija Gasic
- Christina Finegan University of Florida, Peggy Ozias-Akins
- Jenna Hershberger Cornell University, Allen Van Deynze
- Brittany Jones Montana State University, Duke Pauli
- Natalie Kaiser Michigan State University, Sarah Potts
- Saarah Kuzay University of California Davis, Roy Cantrell
- Ammani Kyanam Texas A&M University, Jodi Scheffler
- Chandler Levison University of Georgia, Hannah Senior
- Kathryn Michel University of Wisconsin, Amy Lezzoni
- William Singer- Virginia Tech University, Richard Pratt
- Nikayla Strauss Washington State University, Jennifer Yates
- Ella Taagen Cornell University, David Bubeck
- David Tork University of Minnesota, Donn Cummings
- Cassandra Winn Iowa State University, Amanda Hulse-Kemp
- Zara York Washington State University, Julie Dawson
- Abelina Jackson University of California Davis, Bo Zhang
- Hallie Longest Iowa State University, Virginia Sikes

NAPB Borlaug Scholars (ASF) Fund Financial Summary for 2020

Contributions to NAPB Borlaug Scholars ASF fund:

Beginning Balance 1/1/2020: \$58,404.61

Donor contributions through 6/30/2020: \$8,500.00

Investment Earnings through 6/30/2020: \$168.17

Distributions: (\$4,425.00)

Ending Balance: \$62,647.78

The Fund had sufficient funds to increase the number of awards to 18 in 2020, ahead of the five year strategic plan goals. Additional distributions of at least \$5,000 (\$500 to 10 Borlaug Scholars) are planned through August, 2020.

There are no currently identified actionable items to bring before the ASF, Tri-Society, or ACSESS boards at this time. 2020 was an unusual year for the Borlaug Scholars due to the Covid-19 crisis, but the committee, scholars, and mentors all adapted as evidenced by the July 31st Kickoff Meet-and-Greet. The event was widely praised by all participants, especially the Borlaug Scholars.

Respectfully Submitted:

Don Jones, NAPB Borlaug Scholars Chair

