2022 ANNUAL REPORT NAPB AWARDS COMMITTEE

The NAPB Awards Committee completed its main activity in July 2022, selecting four outstanding candidates for NAPB Awards from the 13 nominees. Nine nominees were private sector and four public sector. Disappointingly, there was only one nominee for the Public Sector Plant Breeding Impact Award. We plan to do a better job publicizing and encouraging nomination packages for this award in upcoming cycles.

Nominators provided packages comprising a nomination letter, condensed candidate CV, selected products (publications, presentations, patent, cultivar release, etc.) and support letters. Committee members reviewed each package and provided rankings for nominees within each category. Based on Committee feedback, this cycle was once again challenging. Final rankings were quite tight, but this suggests the Committee was considering an array of very deserving candidates, with high-quality nomination packages.

The NAPB Exec Committee also chose to honor Peter Bretting with a 2022 Friends of Plant Breeding Award. This award is given at the discretion of the Exec Committee and is not necessarily provided annually. All awardees will have an opportunity to present a talk of their choosing at the 2023 annual conference.

2022 NAPB AWARD WINNERS BY CATEGORY						
Award Category	Awardee	Affiliation				
Early Career Scientist	Marcio Resende	University of Florida				
Lifetime Achievement	Fernando Gonzalez	Corteva AgriScience				
Public Sector Plant Breeding Impact	James Anderson	Univ Minnesota				
Private Sector Plant Breeding Impact	Edwin Grote	Corteva AgriScience				
Friends of Plant Breeding	Peter Bretting	USDA-ARS				

It was a pleasure to have an engaged committee in 2022. Some members have served the customary three years (or beyond) or have changed positions. As they roll off, we will work to recruit new and diverse members. We will also work to engage more effectively with our Newsletter and updated website to provide updates and encourage new nominees.

Term	Surname	Name	Affiliation	ation Email Address	
2016-20	McFerson	Jim	Washington State Univ (ret.) jim.mcferson@gmail.com`		
2016-20	Kidwell	Kim	Univ Illinois	kkidwell@illinois.edu	
2016-20	Kresovich	Steve	Clemson Univ	skresov@clemson.edu	
2016-20	Baltensperger	Dave	Texas A&M Univ	dbaltensperger@tamu.edu	
2018-21	Duncan	Rob	Univ Manitoba	Rob.Duncan@umanitoba.ca	
2019-22	Smallwood	Chris	Purdue Univ	csmallwood84@gmail.com	
2020-22	Grapes	Laura	Bayer Crop Science	laura.grapes@bayer.com	
2022-25	Parks	Jim	Corteva AgriScience	james.parks@corteva.com	
2022-25	Sjoberg	Stephanie	Syngenta <u>Stephanie.Sjoberg@syngenta.com</u>		