

This year's committee:

Officers	Other members
Chair James McFerson (Chair)	David Baltensperger, Texas A&M Univ
Washington State Univ R&E Ctr (Ret)	Rob Duncan, Univ Manitoba
	Laura Grapes, Bayer Crop Science
Vice Chair NA	Kim Kidwell, Univ Illinois
Secretary NA	Steve Kresovich, Clemson Univ
	Jim Parks, Jim, Corteva AgriScience
	Stephanie Sjoberg, Syngenta
	Chris Smallwood, Purdue Univ

Major Goals for the Year 2022-23

- Formally consider the creation of an award recognizing outstanding plant breeding educators (cooperative with Education Committee)
- Critically assess the effectiveness of the Committee's activities and improve and document operations to achieve a representative diversity of awardees and enhance accessibility for the broad plant breeding community.
- Efficiently and transparently conduct the nomination and evaluation process for the 2022-23 cycle.

Major Highlights / Accomplishments for the Year 2022-23

- Achieved a diverse set of nominees for 2023 awards
- Initiated discussion with Education Committee on initiative to create a Plant Breeding Educator award
- Created draft of Awards Committee Guidelines to support future efforts of the Committee

Lessons learnt

- An updated web site and active Communications team can significantly benefit functions of NAPB committees already suspected this but appreciate the improvements
- When the annual meeting time line is set earlier, need to adjust Award nominations timeline earlier as well another already knew this too, but need to adjust
- NAPB lacks certain demographic information (racial background, gender preference, career stage, etc.) that would help assess the representatives of awardees



Loose ends &/or Goals for Next Year 2023-24

- Complete the process to consider the addition of a Plant Breeder Educator award category
- Encourage turnover of Committee members while maintaining a balanced, diverse membership
- Complete Awards Committee Guidelines

Incoming Secretary

Awards Committee has only one officer (Chair)

Details on any collaborations between committees

- The efforts by Eloy Corona as Communications Chair were critical in obtaining a more balanced set of nominees for the four categories.
- Look forward to collaboration with the Education Committee on the potential Plant Breeding Educator Award