NAPB Borlaug Scholars 2023 Annual Report

ACSESS468 ACSESS – NAPB Borlaug Scholars Committee

June 13, 2023

This is the NAPB Borlaug Scholars Committee Annual Report to the Executive Committee for the 2023 Annual Meeting. This program was created in January 2018. The National Association of Plant Breeders (NAPB) was established in 2010 with the following mission: *The National Association of Plant Breeders strengthens plant breeding to promote food security, quality of life, and a sustainable future.*

The committee composition from January 2023 and continuing for 2 years was:

2022-2023 NAPB Borlaug Scholars Committee:

Name	Position
Allen Van Deynze	Chair
Sarah Potts	Vice Chair
Chandler Levinson	Secretary
Jones, Don	Past Chair
Donn Cummings	Founding chair
Ana Maria Heilman Morales	Incoming Secretary (Jan 2024)
Aaron Lorenz	
Amy Jacobson	
Caio Canella Vieira	
Jodi Scheffler	
Kiru Pillay	
Mala Ganiger	
Matheus Benatti	
Peng Chee	
Richard Pratt	Stepped down 2023
Sumandeep Bazzer	
Wayne Smith	

The Vision of the NAPB Borlaug Scholars Committee: *A sustainable annual flow of high-potential plant science students and emerging plant breeders into the professional community.*

Our Mission: Selection of outstanding plant breeding students through national competition; funding these students to attend the NAPB Annual Meetings; mentoring of scholarship recipients during and after the annual meeting.

2022-Scholar Highlights:

- The 2022 class first met each other and mentors at the annual joint breakfast with George Carver scholars in Ames, IA. Speakers included breeders from Inari, Dr. King and Dr. Christian Tobias (NIFA).
- Introduction of the 2022 Class of Borlaug Scholars using their self-made 1-minute videos was highlighted during the NAPB Annual Meeting as well as personal introduction of each of the scholars at the 2022 meeting in Iowa. This enables an expanded audience to meet each scholar.
- NAPB Borlaug Scholars (NBS) were given priority invitation and participation to several events including American Seed Trade Association Vegetable and Flower meeting in 2023 in Orlando, FL. This was led by Seed Central, UC Davis Plant Breeding Center and Seed Biotechnology Center where 29 students from across the United States were hosted Several Borlaug Scholars and mentors attended to promote the program and NAPB. Donn Cummings (and other NAPB members) attended the majority of these meetings hosting a booth for the NAPB Borlaug Scholars program with opportunities to address the audience directly as part of the programs.
- Again with Seed Central, and ASTA a student program was run where NAPB was highlighted with 48 students, mainly from California with an additional 6 from the ASTA student connection at the ASTA Leadership conference (June 11-14). Past NBS shared their experiences in beginning their careers in industry. Two Class of 2023 NBS attended as well as mentors.
- NAPB Borlaug scholars were highlighted at Crop Science Society, ASTA Corn, Soybean and Sorghum and ASTA Veg and Flower, ASTA Leadership and California Seed Association meetings.
- NAPB scholar profiles have been publicized through the NAPB Newsletter, Website, Meeting Registration Website, Seed World, and social media channels.
- All 2022 NAPB Borlaug Scholars received complementary membership and meeting registration, thanks to NAPB. They also will receive travel and accommodations expenses up to \$1500.
- SeedWorld interview podcasts were developed for NAPB Borlaug Scholars at the meeting and posted on the SeedWorld and NAPB websites.

2023 Scholars

The ASF - NAPB Borlaug Scholars Fund has grown from \$30,000 at inception in January 2018 to a current balance (March 2023) of \$95,564.24. We keep in 15% in reserve for \$81,232.15 available for awards. During the last five NAPB Annual Meetings, we have funded 85 scholars.

- \$>19,500 in sponsorship funds has currently raised from 10 institutions for 2023, showing the continuing support from the greater plant breeding community. A portion of the contributions came from individuals too.
- All 2023 NAPB Borlaug Scholars will receive complementary membership and meeting registration, thanks to NAPB. They also will receive travel and accommodations expenses up to \$1500.

• In 2023, all scholars will attend the NAPB Borlaug Scholars/George Carver joint Breakfast to introduce them to the program, mentors and NAPB. The Borlaug Scholars breakfast is once again sponsored by Inari.

2022 Borlaug Scholars and Mentors

• For the Class of 2023 Borlaug Scholars were chosen from 76 graduate student and 7 undergraduate nominations submitted. Of the 23 chosen, 17 were Phd, 2 MSc. and 4 undergraduate students. Although a targeted effort was made to improve undergraduate applications, applications are still low. Thanks to Ana Mari Heilman Morales. This represents the health of the program. With 2023, we will have supported 108 scholars since 2018. The below Table lists the new scholars and mentors. Note we have several new mentors and past scholars that are now mentors and committee members for NAPB.

Firstname	Lastname	Current School	Degree	Mentor
Gaurab	Bhattarai	The University of Georgia	PhD	Christoher Saski
Grant	Billings	North Carolina State University	PhD	Don Jones
Mahule	Boris Alladassi	Iowa State University	PhD	Allen Van Deynze
Matthew	Brooke	Washington State University	PhD	Brian Pfeiffer
Hannah	Clubb	Iowa State University	UG	Brittney Jones
Juliana	Cromie	University of Florida	PhD	Valerio Hoyos- Villegas
Savanah	Dale	Cornell University	PhD	Chandler Levinson*
Harsimardeep	Gill	South Dakota State University	PhD	Sumandeep Bazzer
Andrew	Hokanson	Iowa State University	UG	David Bubeck
Amaka	Ifeduba	Texas A&M University	PhD	Brian Gardunia
Hannah	Jeffery	Michigan State University	PhD	Liana Nice
Navdeep	Kaur	New Mexico State University	MS	Amanda Hulse Kemp
Marie	Klein	UC Davis	PhD	Hannah Senior
Elizabeth	Krause	North Dakota State University	UG	Ksenija Gasic
Audrey	Kruse	University of Wisconsin- Madison	PhD	Ammani Naidu
Sudip	Kunwar	University of Florida	PhD	Ana Maria Heilman
Juan	Panelo	Iowa State University	PhD	Caio Canella Vieira*
Stephen	Parris	Clemson University	PhD	Peggy Ozias- Akins
Lucas	Roberts	University of Minnesota	PhD	Donn Cummings
Jonathan	Santiago Concepcion	Michigan State University	PhD	Shofiqul Islam
Connor	Soderstrom	Cal Poly Pomona	MS	Jodi Scheffler
Hannah	Stoll	University of Minnesota	PhD	Wayne Smith
Lauren	Stubbs	Washington State University	UG	Jenny Koebernick

^{*}Past NAPB Borlaug Scholar

NAPB Borlaug Scholars (ASF) Fund Financial Summary for 2023 (March 30, 2023)

Contributions to NAPB Borlaug Scholars ASF fund:		
Beginning Balance 1/1/2023	\$80,145.15	
Donor Contributions (to date)	\$9,750.00	
Investment Earnings	\$(6,159,59)	
Distributions	\$(487.50)	
Balance through 03/30/2023	\$95,567.24	
15% spending Floor	\$14,335.09	
Available funds	\$81,232.15	

The Fund had funds to maintain the number of awards to 23 in 2023, ahead of the five-year strategic plan goals. Additional funds (\$9,750) have been committed, but not yet reflected in ledgers.

Respectfully Submitted:

Allen Van Deynze,

NAPB Borlaug Scholars Chair